Congratulations to 2003 Tcl Active Award Winners

VANCOUVER, British Columbia – July 31, 2003 – ActiveState, the leader in professional programming tools for open source developers, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2003 Active Awards for Tcl, presented July 31, 2003, at the 10th Annual Tcl/Tk Conference in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Active Awards are held annually to honor members of the open source community who *actively* contribute to open languages and display excellence in their programming efforts. The categories include each of ActiveState's key technologies: Perl, PHP, Python, Tcl, and XSLT. Programmers' Choice Award winners were nominated and chosen by the open source community. Activators' Choice Award winners were chosen by ActiveState's development team.

The Programmers' Choice winner for Tcl is Cameron Laird. Cameron has contributed to several books on Tcl and is a frequent contributor to the comp.lang.tcl newsgroup. He is a regular writer for the O'Reilly Network and other publications. His own development work often focuses on security. He first ran an open-source BSD host in his own office in 1997. The Activators' Choice Tcl winner is Richard Suchenwirth. Richard, a diligent contributor to the Tclers Wiki, is also known for his amazing weekend projects that show off Tcl/Tk and assist others in making the most of Tcl, including making internationalization simple and using Tcl on PDAs. Congratulations to all our nominees, and thanks to everyone who participated!

ActiveState is a trademark of ActiveState Corp. All other company names herein may be trademarks of their respective owners. ActiveState Corporation 2003.

Recent Posts

Scroll to Top